Freemantles School

Freemantles School

Freemantle images

Safeguarding Statement

DRAFT, pending ratification at Full Governors Meeting on 21st November 2016

Freemantles School recognise our moral and statutory responsibility to safeguard and promote the welfare of all pupils. We endeavour to provide a safe and welcoming environment where children are respected and valued. We are alert to the signs of abuse and neglect and follow our procedures to ensure that children receive effective support, protection and justice. Child protection reporting and forms, form part of the school’s safeguarding responsibilities.

 

Key Personnel

The Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) is: Kate Ball

Contact details: email: kball@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk Telephone: 01483 545 680

The deputy DSL(s) are Justin Price, Wendy Boothman, Julia Pudney, Liz Cooper, Simone Hollander, Lindsay Martin, Karin Ferris, Claire Abbott, Jane Feneron

Contact details: email: jprice@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk, wboothman@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk, jpudney@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk, lcooper@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk, shollander@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk, lmartin@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk,  kferris@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk, cabbott@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk, jfeneron@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk Telephone: 01483 545 680

The nominated child protection governor is: Steve Williams

Contact details: email:   Telephone: 07961 206428

The Headteacher is: Justin Price

Contact details: email: jprice@freemantles.surrey.sch.uk Telephone: 01483 545 680

The Chair of Governors is: Steve Williams

Contact details: email: s.c.williams@ntlworld.com Telephone: 01483 545 680

 

Terminology

 Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children is defined as:

• protecting children from maltreatment;

• preventing impairment of children's health or development;

• ensuring that children grow up in circumstances consistent with the provision of safe and effective care; and

• taking action to enable all children to have the best outcomes.

 

Child Protection is a part of safeguarding and promoting welfare. It refers to the activity that is undertaken to protect specific children who are suffering, or are likely to suffer, significant harm.

Staff refers to all those working for or on behalf of the school, full or part time, temporary or permanent, in either a paid or voluntary capacity.

Child includes everyone under the age of 18.

Parents refers to birth parents and other adults who are in a parenting role, for example step-parents, foster carers and adoptive parents.